Review and Giveaway: VALLEY OF THE MOON by Melanie Gideon



Title: The Valley of the Moon
Author: Melanie Gideon 
Publisher: Ballantine
Publication Date: July 26, 2016
ISBN: 9780345539281
Number of Pages: 416
How I Got It: NetGalley
Format: Kindle
NetGalley Description:
In this captivating novel from the author of Wife 22, a woman who feels lost in her own time stumbles across a California community that has, impossibly, been marooned in the early twentieth century—perfect for readers of The Time Traveler's Wife, Time and Again, and Sarah Addison Allen.
Lux is a single mom struggling to make her way when she discovers an idyllic community in the Sonoma Valley. It seems like a place from another time—until she realizes it actually is. Lux must keep one foot in her world, raising her son as well as she can with the odds stacked against her, but every day she is more strongly drawn in by the sweet simplicity of life in Greengage, and by the irresistible connection she feels with a man born decades before her. Soon she finds herself torn between her ties to the modern world—her adored son—and the first place she has ever felt truly at home.
My Review:
I loved the mix of science fiction and time travel in this novel. While the concept of time travel in contemporary fiction is often compared to Kindred or The Time Traveler's Wife, this was a bit different because the main characters can control some of their travel and it is linear, although it accelerates at varying paces. The theme of time travel may turn away a few readers looking for a "general" fiction read but Melanie Gideon weaves the concept into the story so effortlessly that I found it no different than most dual narrative novels. I really loved all the characters in this novel and they were extremely relatable. I also had *two* (not one, but TWO!) chills down the spine moments toward the end of the novel that pretty much cinched Valley of the Moon as a new favorite for me.



a Rafflecopter giveaway




***Disclaimer:: I was given a copy of this release in exchange for an honest review. I received no additional compensation. ***

7 comments

Jennifer said...

I've been on a thriller kick lately! Loving a good suspenseful novel with twists and turns.

traveler said...

I have enjoyed more profound novels which have depth and are lengthy. Family sagas and historical family sagas.

TarheelFIT1 said...

I've typically had widely eclectic taste in books and alternate through genres as I read each book. It keeps me from getting bored or from anything getting predictable while I read. :)

L Bryant said...

I've been reading thrillers as of late but my preferred genre is historical fiction.

Judy Krueger said...

I am, for I don't know what reason, drawn to time travel stories. Great review!

Suzy said...

Definitely! For some time now, my selections have been either thrillers/suspense or literary fiction. I just can't do fluffy reads anymore.

ShelvesOfKnives said...

Oh man, time travel is one of my favorite sub genres. I won a hardcover of this from the publisher, and I'm hoping to start it tomorrow as I'll be in the car for 4hrs...

Crossing my fingers I'll like it haha