Sunday, December 18, 2016

Start Your 2017 with These 17 January Fiction Releases



If I had unlimited reading time, I'd be cuddled up with these 17 releases in January 2017!
Which ones are you adding to your reading list?


Sisters One, Two, Three by Nancy Star
January 1st 2017 by Lake Union Publishing


The Echo of Twilight by Judith Kinghorn
January 3rd 2017 by Berkley


The Chosen Maiden by Eva Stachniak
January 10th 2017 by Doubleday Canada


Lotus by Lijia Zhang
January 10, 2017 by Henry Holt


The Second Mrs. Hockaday by Susan Rivers
January 10th 2017 by Algonquin Books


The Silversmith's Wife by Sophia Tobin
January 16th 2014 by Simon & Schuster UK (originally released in 2014)



Pretty Little World by Elizabeth LaBan & Melissa DePino
January 17, 2017 by Lake Union


Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney
January 17, 2017 by St. Martin’s


The Futures by Anna Pitoniak
January 17th 2017 by Little Brown and Company


The Wicked City by Beatriz Williams
January 17th 2017 by William Morrow


The Fire by Night by Teresa Messineo
January 17th 2017 by William Morrow


The Winter in Anna by Reed Karaim
January 17th 2017 by W. W. Norton & Company


Indelible by Adelia Saunders
January 17th 2017 by Bloomsbury USA


A Word for Love by Emily Robbins
January 17th 2017 by Riverhead Books


Perfect Little World by Kevin Wilson
January 24th 2017 by Ecco


The Signal Flame by Andrew Krivak
January 24th 2017 by Scribner


I Liked My Life by Abby Fabiaschi
January 31, 2017 by St Martin’s


There are some great stories here. But let's start with....there's some super catchy covers here, right? 


Friday, November 18, 2016

Foodie Friday:: Review of KITCHENS OF THE GREAT MIDWEST


Title: Kitchens of the Great Midwest 
Author: J. Ryan Stradal
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking 
Publication Date: July 28, 2015
ISBN: 9780525429142
Number of Pages: 310
How I Got It: Netgalley
Format: Kindle
Goodreads Description:
When Lars Thorvald's wife, Cynthia, falls in love with wine--and a dashing sommelier--he's left to raise their baby, Eva, on his own. He's determined to pass on his love of food to his daughter--starting with puréed pork shoulder. As Eva grows, she finds her solace and salvation in the flavors of her native Minnesota. From Scandinavian lutefisk to hydroponic chocolate habaneros, each ingredient represents one part of Eva's journey as she becomes the star chef behind a legendary and secretive pop-up supper club, culminating in an opulent and emotional feast that's a testament to her spirit and resilience.

Each chapter in J. Ryan Stradal's startlingly original debut tells the story of a single dish and character, at once capturing the zeitgeist of the Midwest, the rise of foodie culture, and delving into the ways food creates community and a sense of identity. By turns quirky, hilarious, and vividly sensory, Kitchens of the Great Midwest is an unexpected mother-daughter story about the bittersweet nature of life--its missed opportunities and its joyful surprises. It marks the entry of a brilliant new talent.
My Review:
This book received lots of praise from many of my book blogging friends when it released last summer. I had an ARC hanging around that I just couldn't get to. Then I decided to go through my NetGalley backlist to see if anything caught my attention. I thought "I'll give it a try and see if it catches my attention, if it doesn't do it in the first few pages, I'll move on." Well, based on the fact that I'm writing a review, it is obvious that I read the whole thing. I could probably talk for quite a while about this novel but I will focus on the main points that I loved. First of all, food. Of course I love foodie fiction but this one was different. The food topics and types ranged from beloved childhood favorites to conscious farming and from heirloom tomatoes to county fair bake-offs. The book's central character doesn't overpower the story, she is merely a touchpoint for a variety of other characters' stories. I may be a bit late to the game in regards to reading this release, but I am so glad I didn't miss it and I hope to see more books with this type of tangential storyline in the future.

***Disclaimer:: I was given a copy of this release in exchange for an honest review. I received no additional compensation. ***

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Book Spotlight: Victoria by Daisy Goodwin



Title: Victoria 
Author: Daisy Goodwin
Publisher: St. Martin's 
Publication Date: November 22, 2016
ISBN: 9781250045461
Number of Pages: 352
Goodreads Description:
“They think I am still a little girl who is not capable of being a Queen.”
Lord Melbourne turned to look at Victoria. “They are mistaken. I have not known you long, but I observe in you a natural dignity that cannot be learnt. To me, ma’am, you are every inch a Queen.”
In 1837, less than a month after her eighteenth birthday, Alexandrina Victoria – sheltered, small in stature, and female – became Queen of Great Britain and Ireland. Many thought it was preposterous: Alexandrina — Drina to her family — had always been tightly controlled by her mother and her household, and was surely too unprepossessing to hold the throne. Yet from the moment William IV died, the young Queen startled everyone: abandoning her hated first name in favor of Victoria; insisting, for the first time in her life, on sleeping in a room apart from her mother; resolute about meeting with her ministers alone.
One of those ministers, Lord Melbourne, became Victoria’s private secretary. Perhaps he might have become more than that, except everyone argued she was destined to marry her cousin, Prince Albert of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha. But Victoria had met Albert as a child and found him stiff and critical: surely the last man she would want for a husband….
Drawing on Victoria’s diaries as well as her own brilliant gifts for history and drama, Daisy Goodwin, author of the bestselling novels The American Heiress and The Fortune Hunter as well as creator and writer of the new PBS/Masterpiece drama Victoria, brings the young queen even more richly to life in this magnificent novel.

Publicist's Insight: 
Goodwin, author of the acclaimed novels The American Heiress and The Fortune Hunter, was inspired to write Victoria after picking up a volume of the monarch’s diaries. “How handsome Albert looks in his white cashmere breeches,” teenage Queen Victoria wrote, “with nothing on underneath.” People often think of the queen as an aging, frumpy widow in black, but Goodwin was intrigued by the young woman she found in the dairies: a feisty personality, but also steadfast in her ideas and beliefs about being a ruler. In this magnificent novel, Daisy—also creator and writer of the upcoming PBS/Masterpiece drama Victoria—shares the brilliantly imagined life of a young woman about to make her mark on her country…and the world.

Check out a look at the Victoria drama series airing on Masterpiece on PBS here and check out my review of Daisy Goodwin's previous release, The Fortune Hunter, here!