Foodie Friday: RECIPE FOR DISASTER by Stacey Ballis


Title: Recipe for Disaster
Author: Stacey Ballis
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: March 3, 2015
ISBN: 9780425265505
Number of Pages: 480
How I Got It: from publicist
Format: paperback

Goodreads Description:
Stacey Ballis cooks up a delicious broth of a novel about a woman whose perfect life falls apart in spectacular fashion--leaving her with a house to restore, an antique cookbook (but no cooking talent), and one very unhappy schnauzer. For fans of Jen Lancaster, Jennifer Weiner, and Emily Giffin.
To an outside observer, Anneke Stroudt is a mess—her shirts are stained, her fingernails stubby, her language colorful. But, despite her flaws, Anneke’s life is close to perfect. She has a beautiful historic house to restore and a loving fianc√© who cooks like a dream.
Until Anneke’s charmed existence falls apart when she loses both her job and her future husband in one terrible day. In need of a new start, she packs up her disgruntled schnauzer and moves into her half-finished home, where she throws her pent-up frustration—and what little savings she has—into finishing the renovation.
But at the first step into the house’s overhaul, Anneke is sidetracked when she discovers a mysterious leather-bound book, long hidden away, filled with tempting recipes and steamy secrets from Emma Ditmore-Smythe, the cook for the house’s original owners. Slowly, with the help of some delicious food and Emma’s life lessons, Anneke begins to realize that, just like a flawless recipe, she’s been waiting for the right ingredients to cook up a perfect life all along…

My Review:
Okay! Okay! Apparently I've been living under a rock because this is my first Stacey Ballis book! Oh, how I loved this book! It was like the perfect combination of HGTV, DIY Network, The Food Network, and The Cooking channel...my favorite channels! I have one thing to say (but I'll let this meme say it for me)

I'll be reading her previous releases because this was perfect. I call this type of book a "bathtub book" because I like a fun, light-hearted paperback when I'm soaking in the tub. Something that makes me happy but doesn't require deep critical thinking. Take a look at a few of her previous releases, aren't the covers delicious?




**I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review **

No comments