I Like You Just the Way I Am by Jenny Mollen




Title: I Like You Just the Way I Am
Author: Jenny Mollen
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: June 17, 2014
ISBN: 9781250041685
Number of Pages: 254
How I Got It: from publicist
Format: paperback

Summary: 
By the actress, writer, and one of the funniest women on Twitter, an outrageous, hysterical memoir of acting on impulse, plotting elaborate hoaxes, and refusing to acknowledge boundaries in any form 
Jenny Mollen is an actress and writer living in Los Angeles. She is also a wife, married to a famous guy (which is annoying only because he gets free shit and she doesn't). She doesn’t want much from life. Just to be loved—by everybody: her parents, her dogs, her ex-boyfriends, her ex-boyfriends’ dogs, her husband, her husband’s ex-girlfriends, her husband's ex-girlfriend's new boyfriends, etc. Some people might call that impulse crazy, but isn’t "crazy" really just a word boring people use to describe fun people? (And Jenny is really, really fun, you guys!)

In these pages, you’ll find stories of Jenny at her most genuine, whether it’s stalking her therapist (because he knows everything about her so shouldn’t she get to know everything about him?); throwing a bachelorette party so bad that one of the guests is suspected dead; or answering the eternal question, Would your best friend blow your husband on a car ride to dinner if she didn't know you were hiding in the backseat?
I Like You Just the Way I Am is about not doing the right thing—about indulging your inner crazy-person. It is Jenny when she’s not trying to impress anyone or come across as a responsible, level-headed member of society. With any luck it will make you better acquainted with who youreally are and what you really want. Which, let’s be honest, is most likely someone else’s email password.

My Review:
I like a crazy antics memoir as much as the next person but I feel like all the women are trying to "one up" each other anymore. These crazy acts make me think "maybe I wasn't as wild as I thought" and I'm fine with that. Jenny Mollen tells stories that are hilarious, cringe-worthy, and shocking. I first thought I wasn't going to be able to finish the book because she talks about stalking her current husband's ex girlfriend. As a woman on the other end of this sort of situation, I was thinking "this isn't funny. You have problems. Seriously psychological problems." Mollen admits her insecurities and craziness but also uses it as an identifier. I found that as the book progressed some funnier stories came out. I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy Chelsea Handler, Mindy Kaling, maybe Lisa Lampenelli. Mollen is crass and no holds barred. 

No comments