The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley



Title: The Deepest Secret
Author: Carla Buckley
Publisher: Bantam
Publication Date: February 4, 2014
ISBN: 978034553525
Number of Pages: 480
How I Got It: NetGalley
Format: Kindle

NetGalley Description:
For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.
 
Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.
 
Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control—and some secrets that not even love can conceal.
 
Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power—a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.


My Review:
I was so glad to finally read a suspense / thriller where I didn't have the whole plot figured out in the first 50 pages! Carla Buckley creates a great atmosphere of cul-de-sac life with a twist. The main character, Tyler's, medical condition affects not just him but extends to his family and his neighbors. Tyler's mom, Eve, is the epitome of a doting mother trying to do everything she can to protect her son and believing that no one else, even her husband, is responsible enough to monitor his condition, she makes a million small sacrifices. But one night's tragedy results in a secret she must keep in order to continue protecting Tyler.  I especially liked the voyeuristic aspect of the novel. Since Tyler is unable to go outside during daylight hours, he roams his neighborhood at night and discovers that all of his neighbors have secrets of their own. 
I'll be recommending this book to anyone who enjoyed Until You're Mine 


** I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review **

No comments