Foodie Friday: Review of The Witches of Cambridge by Menna Van Praag


Title: The Witches of Cambridge
Author: Menna Van Praag
Publisher: Ballantine
Publication Date: February 9, 2016
ISBN: 9780804179003
Number of Pages: 306
How I Got It: Netgalley
Format: Kindle
Goodreads Description:
For fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Adriana Trigiani, The Witches of Cambridge reveals an astonishing world where the heart's deepest secrets give way to the magic of life-changing love.

"Be careful what you wish for. If you're a witch, you might just get it."

Amandine Bisset has always had the power to feel the emotions of those around her. It's a secret she can share only with her friends all professors, all witches when they gather for the Cambridge University Society of Literature and Witchcraft. Amandine treasures these meetings but lately senses the ties among her colleagues beginning to unravel. If only she had her student Noa's power to hear the innermost thoughts of others, she might know how to patch things up. Unfortunately, Noa regards her gift as a curse. So when a seductive artist claims he can cure her, Noa jumps at the chance, no matter the cost. Noa's not the only witch in over her head. Mathematics professor Kat has a serious case of unrequited love but refuses to cast spells to win anyone's heart. Her sister, Cosima, is not above using magic to get what she wants, sprinkling pastries in her bakery with equal parts sugar and enchantment. But when Cosima sets her sights on Kat's crush, she conjures up a dangerous love triangle. As romance and longing swirl through every picturesque side street, The Witches of Cambridge find their lives unexpectedly upended and changed in ways sometimes extraordinary, sometimes heartbreaking, but always enchanting.

My Review:
As soon as I read this description I wondered if a book more perfectly suited to me could be written. I love magic realism, witches, and food. Spells + baking = a happy, relaxing read for me. The Witches of Cambridge combined all three loves deliciously. Each of the witches have different powers but there is something about the Cosima storyline that I especially loved. Her baking causes people to fall in love, heals broken hearts, and satisfies Cambridge's collective sweet tooth. Each of the other witch's storylines was equally interesting and one was delightfully dark. For lovers of Linda Francis Lee's The Glass Kitchen and Alice Hoffman's Practical Magic, readers of The Witches of Cambridge will be wrapped in magic realism and let wanting nothing....except maybe a cupcake.

***Disclaimer:: I was given a copy of this release in exchange for an honest review. I received no additional compensation. ***

3 comments

Carmen said...

Sounds like a fun read I would enjoy.

L Bryant said...

Sounds great. Good review. Than you.

Judy Krueger said...

I am glad you found a happy relaxing read.